Call 548-2217 for prints.

Majors: Orioles win third straight Little League title

Make it a three-peat! The North Big Horn Little League Orioles made it three titles in a row Friday night as they captured the league post-season tournament with a pair of wins over the Yankees.

The Big Horn Engraving Orioles, coached by Scott Murphey and Troy Teter, defeated the Conoco Yankees, coached by John Schneider, 4-2 on Wednesday after the Yanks knocked off the Wyo-Ben Rockies in Tuesday’s opener. After the Yankees eliminated the Rockies on Thursday, they met the Orioles again for the title and the O’s won going away, 10-1.

“Our defense played really well in both games,” Murphey said. “We didn’t make a lot of mistakes.”

Call 548-2217 for prints.
Tyler Teter of the Orioles slides into home plate in a cloud of dust and chalk during Friday night’s championship game for the Majors Division. Blocking the plate and tagging Teter out on this play is Yankees catcher Trey Dickerson.

In Wednesday’s game the O’s and Yanks were tied 1-1 until Kaleb Mayes ripped a three-run home run in the bottom of the fifth inning. The Yankees got one back in the top of the sixth but fell 4-2.

Mayes picked up the win on the mound for the Orioles in relief of starter Riley Abraham, who was very solid in his start.

In Friday’s championship game Mayes again had the hot bat, hitting a double during a four-run third, then belting a three-run homer in the fourth, when the O’s plated four runs to lead 9-1. They added an insurance run in the fifth.

Tyler Teter picked up the win for the Orioles, blanking the Yankees for the first three innings. Abraham relieved him, and Brandon Teter pitched the sixth.

“We started out with nothing a few years ago, mostly 9- and 10-year-olds,” Murphey said. “But we made everyone on the team pitch. We had seven players on the team this year who could pitch. Having pitching depth was the key, and our fielding could cover up for them, too.

“We just had a really good season. We only lost two games.”

Members of the Orioles were Riley Abraham, Trace Murphey, Kaleb Mayes, Tyler Teter, Jason Harford, Brandon Teter, Tanner Brinklow, Kyle Burton, Antonio Garza, Porter Nichols, Jonathan Allred and Lane Hoover.

Next up is the all-star tournament. An 11-12-year-old team has been chosen, and pool play

will take place the week after next leading up to the district tournament.

By David Peck