Pigs win

As always, there was a full slate of pig wrestling teams for the 2011 Big Horn County Fair Pig Wrestling Competition last Thursday.

Ten teams raced the clock to try and get the smallest pig in the barrel (butt first) in the peewee division, and only three were successful with Jadeco Inc. – Worland taking first with a time of 26.14. Team members were Tyler and Aidan Searfoss of Hyattville, Ridge Guidice and Jennifer DeLuna. Second place went to the Hot Hogs from Lovell with a time of 29.92. Team members were Dallen Mangus, Russell Crosby, Jacob Mangus and Remington Rusch.

Goldie Locks and the Three Little Pigs were third. No time was available. Members were Colter Guty, Mataia Henderson, Addy McCollam and Weston Haley.

After 20 junior division teams were “auctioned” off in the Calcutta, eight teams got the pig in the barrel, a little larger pig this time. The Pork Choppers with Cade Bischoff, Reece May, Colten Flitner and Tyler Lindquist took first with the fastest time of the night at 7.00. The Lawson Products – Todd Bernstein team was a close second at 7.33. Members were Joey Bassett, Spur Hackney, Tommy Bernstein and Chase Lewis. Third place went to Pig Wranglers with a time of 11.16. Members were Mason Irvine, Tristen Lungren, Caleb Salzman and Kaden Lungren.

Other teams in contention with qualified times were Michelena Trucking-Pig Action, 19.64, Pig Busters at 31.18, Swine Dunkers at 24.00, Co-Op Worland at 46 seconds, Hawg Heaven in 36.26 and AC Motors in 21.66.

Ten teams competed in the men’s division with four making qualified times. Trout Slayer with Austin Alexander, Brenton Paxton, Doug Zierolf and Cody Jeffers won the event at 10.75, defeating the defending champion Big Horn Clinic team of Fred Willert, Steve Otto, Austin Triplett and James Willert at 31.63.

Third place went to the Big Belly Boys of Adam Beck, Logan Brown, Hunter Brown and Jacob Beck with a time of 33.82. Edeler Enterprises was just out of the money in fourth at 36.34. Members were Zane Edeler, Jared Jares, Keith Kelley and Tyler Williamson.

Last but not least in the evening were the 10 women’s teams with only two qualified finishes. The Bacon-Aters with Stormi Allen, Jessica Flores, Shelby Nicholson and Shaylee Hixon took first with a time of 11.39.

DPS – Diesel Pickup Specialists with Amy Baugh, Misty Irvine, Sarah Lungren and Hannah Winters were second at 19.24.