Few filings for town, county seats so far

Filings have been trickling in for the Primary Election, with a few candidates for town council and the county commission throwing their hat in the ring so far with a little more than a week left in the filing period.

Filing for the Aug. 21 Primary started last Thursday, May 17, and continues through Friday, June 1.

As of Wednesday morning, only two town council candidates in north Big Horn County had declared their intention to seek election. Lovell councilman Brian Dickson has filed to retain his seat on the council, and in Frannie, Vance Peregoy, who was earlier appointed to the council, has filed for a four-year seat.

All of the mayors for Lovell, Byron, Cowley, Deaver and Frannie are in the middle of their four-year terms and won’t come up for election again until 2014.

On the county level, incumbent commissioner Jerry Ewen of Shell has filed for the Republican nomination and is being joined on the ballot by GOP challenger Linda Harp of Basin.

All other county offices are in the middle of their four-year terms.

Rep. Elaine Harvey has filed for the Republican nomination to retain her District 26 seat in the Wyoming House of Representatives (see related story).

On the state level, there is one U.S. Senate position and one U.S. House seat open. Sen. John Barrasso is expected to seek re-election but had not actually filed by press time on Wednesday. There is one Republican candidate so far, Thomas Bleming of Lusk, and one Democratic candidate: Al Hamburg of Torrington is making his usual run at political office as a fringe candidate.

Rep. Cynthia Lummis has filed for the GOP nomination to retain her seat in Congress and has no challengers so far.

Candidates for municipal office file with their respective town clerks. All municipal offices are non-partisan.

Candidates for county commissioner file with the Big Horn County Clerk’s Office, and candidates for the legislature file with the Wyoming Secretary of State’s Office. Forms are available online at http://soswy.state.wy.us/.

By David Peck