Filing for Primary starts Thursday

Filing for the 2014 Wyoming Primary Election begins today – Thursday, May 15 – and runs through Friday, May 30.

The Primary will be held on Tuesday, Aug. 19.

This is the year of the “big election,” when all of the top five Wyoming elected officials, as well as the seven county officials and two of the three county commissioners will be nominated in the Primary and eventually elected in the General Election in November.

There are seven mayor and council positions up for election in North Big Horn County. In Lovell, positions currently held by Mayor Bruce Morrison and councilmen Bruce Wolsey and Kevin Jones are up for election, as are seats held by Mayor Joel Peterson and council members Dennis Woodward and Diane Badget in Cowley.

Deaver has three seats coming open, seats held by Mayor Fred Yates and councilmen Gary Fulbright and Steve Gillett.

In Byron there are four seats open, offices currently held by Mayor Pam Cozzens and council members Alan Bair, Drew Wilson and Walter Roman. There are two four-year and one two-year terms open on the council.

Frannie has four seats open, as well, currently occupied by Mayor Vance Peregoy and council members Nadine Kreutzer, Delbert Johnson and Shane Roberts.

There are nine county offices up for election in 2014 including seats held by county commissioners Keith Grant and John Hyde, the latter of whom was appointed to the commission following the death of Scotty Hinman.

Also up are County Clerk Lori Smallwood, County Assessor Gina Anderson, County Attorney Michelle McColloch Burns, Sheriff Ken Blackburn, County Coroner Del Atwood, Clerk of District Court Dori Noyes and County Treasurer Becky Lindsey.

Both North Big Horn County legislators are up for election: Sen. Ray Peterson, who represents Senate District 19 (North Big Horn County and Powell), and Rep. Elaine Harvey, who represents House District 26.

State races

There are seven statewide races on the ballot in 2014: Governor, Secretary of State, State Auditor, State Treasurer, Supt. of Public Instruction, U.S. Senator and U.S. House of Representatives.

Gov. Matt Mead has announced his bid for re-election and is being challenged by Supt. of Public Instruction Cindy Hill and Taylor Haynes for the Republican nomination.

Secretary of State Max Maxfield has announced that he will not seek a third term, despite winning a court case that threw out the term limits law, and five people have declared their intention to run: Republicans Ed Buchanan of Torrington, Pete Illoway of Cheyenne, Ed Murray of Cheyenne and Clark Stith of Rock Springs, as well as Constitution Party candidate Jennifer Young.

Mark Gordon is seeking the GOP nomination for State Treasurer as he runs for the office to which he was appointed following the death of former treasurer Joe Meyer.

Also expected to seek re-election is State Auditor Cynthia Cloud. With Hill seeking the governorship, the race for Supt. of Public Instruction is wide open.

U.S. Sen. Mike Enzi faced an initial challenge from Liz Cheney, but the daughter of former Wyoming Congressman and Vice President Dick Cheney later withdrew, citing family reasons. Enzi is facing a challenge from Democratic candidates Charlie Hardy and Rex Wilde, as well as Republican Thomas Bleming of Lusk, who lost to Sen. John Barrasso two years ago.

Rep. Cynthia Lummis is receiving a challenge from Jason Senteney of Yoder.

Filing for office

By statute, candidates have until close of business on May 30 to submit their application and filing fee to the Secretary of State’s Office, the County Clerk’s Office or the Municipal Clerk’s Office, depending on the office sought, Secretary of State Maxfield said in a news release last week.

Maxfield encouraged candidates interested in running for a state office to file their Application for Nomination and pay the required filing fee online during the filing period. Applicants may also download the form and submit it by mail or in person to the respective filing office. Forms and online filing information are available at

“The online filing system provides easy access for candidates filing for state offices. The system will be open 24/7 throughout the filing period beginning May 15, but it closes promptly at 5 p.m. on May 30,” Maxfield said.

“I see the beginning of the filing period as a time that spotlights opportunities for people to get involved in the election process,” Maxfield continued. “The great thing about Wyoming is that we have grass roots elections, so there are tremendous opportunities for individuals to participate in government.”

Maxfield noted that the Secretary of State’s Office will post daily website updates at 4 p.m. throughout the filing period. The updates will include all state candidates who have filed for federal and state offices. Anyone wishing to view that information may visit the Secretary of State’s website at:

By David Peck