Time to vote

Primary Election Tuesday in Wyoming

voteVoters in Wyoming will go to the polls Tuesday to nominate a variety of candidates for office on the Republican and Democratic tickets including national, state and county offices, as well as finalists for non-partisan municipal offices.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday at the following locations: the community center in Lovell, the log gym in Cowley, the town complex in Byron, the community hall in Deaver and the community center (old school) in Frannie.

U.S. Sen. Mike Enzi of Gillette is seeking his fourth six-year term in the Senate and is being challenged by Thomas Bleming of Lusk, Arthur Bruce Clifton of Cheyenne, James “Coaltrain” Gregory of Jackson and Bryan E. Miller of Sheridan.

Vying for the Democratic nomination are William Bryk of Brooklyn, N.Y., Al Hamburg of Torrington, Charlie Hardy of Cheyenne and Rex Wilde of Cheyenne.

Joe Porambo of Casper is the Wyoming Libertarian Party candidate for the U.S. Senate and will be on the ballot at the general election in November. Curt Gottshall of Laramie is running as an Independent.

Rep. Cynthia Lummis of Cheyenne is seeking her fourth two-year term in the U.S. House of Representatives and is being challenged for the Republican nomination by Jason Adam Senteney of Yoder.

Unopposed for the Democratic nomination for U.S. House is Richard Grayson of Apache Junction, Ariz. Dr. Daniel Cummings of Casper is the Wyoming Constitution Party candidate for the U.S. House, and Richard Brubaker of Riverton is the Libertarian candidate for the House. Both will be on the ballot in the general election in November.

Gov. Matt Mead is receiving a two-pronged challenge for re-election on the Republican ticket. Challenging the first-term governor are current Supt. of Public Instruction Cindy Hill of Cheyenne and Taylor Haynes, also of the Capitol City.

The winner will face lone Democratic candidate Peter Gosar in November, along with Libertarian candidate for governor Dee Cozzens of Lovell.

There are six candidates vying to succeed Secretary of State Max Maxfield: Republicans Clark Stith of Rock Springs, Ed Buchanan of Torrington, Ed Murray of Cheyenne and Pete Illoway of Cheyenne, Constitution Party candidate Jennifer Young of Torrington and Libertarian candidate Howard “Kit” Carson of Cheyenne.

Current State Treasurer Mark Gordon of Buffalo is being challenged for the Republican nomination by Ron Redo of Cheyenne, and the winner currently has no opposition in November.

Cynthia Cloud of Cody is unopposed for the Republican nomination for state auditor as she seeks a second term.

There are four candidates hoping to succeed Cindy Hill as supt. of public instruction: Republican hopefuls Jillian Balow of Cheyenne, Sheryl Lain of Cheyenne and Bill Winney of Bondurant and Mike Ceballos of Cheyenne, who is unopposed for the Democratic nomination.

Both Sen. Ray Peterson of Cowley, Senate District 19, and Rep. Elaine Harvey of Lovell, House District 26, are unopposed on Tuesday for the Republican nomination, but Harvey will receive a challenge in November in the form of Constitution Party candidate Joyce Collins of Lovell.

County races

County Commissioners Keith Grant and John Hyde of Lovell are seeking re-election on the Republican ticket and are challenged by Felix Carrizales of Burlington. Linda Harp of Basin will join the two winners on the ballot in November as an Independent.

County Attorney Michelle Burns is receiving a challenge for the Republican nomination from Kim Adams of Shell, and although Sheriff Ken Blackburn of Cowley is unopposed for re-election on the Republican ticket, Greybull Chief of Police Bill Brenner is running for sheriff as an Independent.

There are four Republican candidates for Big Horn County Clerk of District Court hoping to succeed Dori Noyes: Angela Cook, Serena Lipp and Diane Nuttall of Greybull and Debra LaBudda of Basin.

Running unopposed for the GOP nomination are County Coroner Del Atwood, County Clerk Lori Smallwood, County Assessor Gina Anderson and County Treasurer Becky Lindsey.

Town races

Municipalities will whittle candidate lists to two nominees per seat, all non-partisan.

In Lovell two of three candidates for mayor will advance to the general election in November. Mayor Bruce Morrison is seeking re-election and is being challenged by Stacey Hiser and former councilman Angel Montanez. On the ballot for the town council are current councilmen Kevin Jones and Bruce Wolsey and former councilwoman Jodi Lindsay. All three will advance to the general election.

The Lovell mayor’s race is the only “elimination” race in North Big Horn County. All other candidates will advance to the general, although there are some full ballot.

Although Mayor Joel Peterson is unopposed in Cowley, there are four candidates for town council. All will advance to the general election, but the primary on Tuesday will provide an interesting preview for November. Candidates are incumbent councilwoman Diane Badget, Scott Crosby, Daniel Robertson and Nick Sponsel.

In Byron, Mayor Pam Hopkinson is receiving a challenge from Heidi Brightly. Incumbent council members Alan Bair and Walter Roman are seeking re-election to four-year terms, while Gary Petrich is seeking a two-year term on the council.

In Deaver, incumbent councilmen Michael Beyer and Gary Fulbright are vying to succeed Mayor Fred Yates while Bill Camp and incumbent Steve Gillett are running for council.

Frannie Mayor Vance Peregoy is unopposed for re-election, while Mary T. Myers and incumbent Nadine Kreutzer are running for council. There is an open two-year seat on the town council, as well, but no candidate filed. Write-ins will determine nominees.

There is one ballot question facing voters on Tuesday in North Big Horn County, whether to form a museum district that matches the North Big Horn Hospital District. If approved by voters, the North Big Horn County Museum District would be formed, and up to 1 mill of assessed valuation would be imposed on taxable property.

Three persons have filed for six positions on the museum district board of trustees: Rich Fink and Karen Spragg for four-year seats on the board and Craig Trumbull for a two-year seat on the board. Open for write-ins are one four-year seat and two two-year seats on the board.

By David Peck