Rocky Mountain to present 27 diplomas Tuesday

Rocky Mountain High School will graduate 27 seniors at commencement ceremonies next Tuesday, May 26, at 7 p.m. in the school gymnasium.

Vice principal and teacher Tobee Christiansen will be this year’s commencement speaker, and valedictorians Jordan Arnold, Casey Banks, Melissa Bernhisel, Caleb Horrocks, Cannon Simmons and Kirby Winland and salutatorian Tyler Lindquist will deliver addresses.

After a prelude by Lorrie Brost, the RMHS Band under the direction of Nicholas Tolman will perform the processional – “Pomp and Circumstance.” Senior Class President Jordan Arnold will make welcoming remarks.

N1504P52007CPrincipal Tim Winland will present the male and female scholar athletes and salutatory and valedictory awards. Senior Class President Maddie Crawford will introduce Christiansen as the speaker.

Guidance counselor Tim Jones will announce scholarship awards.

The audience will enjoy a PowerPoint presentation developed by teacher John Bernhisel, senior Jennifer Parker and the RMHS multi-media staff.

Principal Winland will present the graduates, and diplomas will be presented by Supt. Shon Hocker and school board members Koleen Sponsel, Paul Rasmussen, Ed Riding, Tricia Aagard, Joan Zier, Brett Crosby and David Banks.

Senior Class Secretary Jennifer Parker will lead the transfer of the tassel, after which the band will perform the recessional – the Rocky Mountain High School song.

Grad Night Out

Seniors are invited to the annual Grad Night Out party at the Lovell Community Center following the commencement ceremonies.

Organizer Renae Miller said the party is entitled “A Redneck Hootenanny” and will feature a redneck/hillbilly theme.

Graduates will check in from 9 to 9:30 p.m. for food, music and games with each senior allowed to bring one guest. The doors will be closed at 9:30. Bowling will be held at Rose City Lanes from 12 to 1:30 a.m., followed by a “redneck food challenge” and the Redneck Games, with the winner being crowned the “ultimate redneck.”

Breakfast will be served around 4 a.m., followed by the announcement of the major prizes including an iPad, TV, mini-refrigerator, bicycle and cash.

The Grad Night Out Committee includes Miller, Kirsten Bryson, Stephanie Brimhall, Jaime Luna, Kim Wilson, Amber May and Sharae Bischoff.

By David Peck